Ten Mile Run Prize Money and Awards

Prize Money

Open Prize Money: A total of $40,000 in prize money, plus a possible $3,500 in bonuses will be awarded in 2019 in equal amounts to the top 10 international men and women as detailed below. Time bonuses of $1000 for 1st sub-46:00 male; $750 for 2nd sub-46:00, $1000 for 1st sub-52:00 female; $750 for 2nd sub-52:00 female.

American Development Prize Money: A total of $25,000 in prize money will be awarded in 2019 to the top 10 U.S. men and women as detailed below. "Double dipping" is permitted, so anyone finishing in the top 10 overall and in the top 10 among U.S. runners may collect both the open and the U.S. awards. There is also a $10,000 American record bonus for the first American man to break Greg Meyer’s American record of 46:13, set here in 1983, and for the first American woman to break Janet Bawcom’s single-sex American record of 52:12, set here in 2014.

The Washington Metropolitan Area Team Championship Division offers $1,000 to the first place men's team and the first place women's team. Teams can be drawn from Running Club Store Teams or Running Club Teams.
 The PRRO Circuit Championship bonus of $10,000 will be paid to any runner winning any one of the following races – the 2018 Lilac Bloomsday 12K, the 2018 Boilermaker 15K, the 2019 Gasparilla Distance Classic (American money only; no international athletes are allowed to qualify at this event), the 2019 Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile Run and 5K Run-Walk- plus the PRRO Championship race presented by the Lilac Bloomsday 12K in 2019. (The bonus will be split if a man and woman accomplish the feat in the same cycle.)

2019 International Prize Structure
Place Men Women
1st $8000 $8000
2nd $4000 $4000
3rd $2000 $2000
4th $1500 $1500
5th $1000 $1000
6th $900 $900
7th $800 $800
8th $700 $700
9th $600 $600
10th $500 $500

2019 American Development Prize Money Structure
"Double-dipping" is allowed with International Prize Money
Place Men Women
1st $5000 $5000
2nd $2500 $2500
3rd $1500 $1500
4th $1000 $1000
5th $800 $800
6th $600 $600
7th $400 $400
8th $300 $300
9th $200 $200
10th $200 $200


2019 Team Prize Structure
Place Men Women
1st Local $1000 $1000



Awards will be given to the first 25 men and women in 2019. A trip to the PRRO Championship at the 2020 Boilermaker 15K in Utica, NY in July 2020 will be awarded to the first local man and woman.

The awards ceremony will begin at approximately 10:15 A.M. on the Washington Monument Grounds with random prizes. At approximately 10:30 A.M. the following awards will be given out. 10-Mile: Top 25 open male and female runners (including prize money to the top 10 overall finishers and the top 3 U.S. finishers who finish in the top 15); the male and female push-rim wheelchair athletes; and the top local male and female. 5K Run-Walk: Top male and female. (These are the only awards in the 5K Run-Walk.)

No Age Group Awards Given Out on Race Day: Due to problems created by unauthorized number switching, we will not give out age-group awards at the race day awards ceremony. Age group awards will be mailed by approximately June 1 after the results are declared final on April 30. Prizes will be given in age groups as outlined below.

2019 Awards Structure
# Awards (M&W)
Open 25
Local 1
Wheelchair 3
19 & under 3
20-24 5
25-29 5
30-34 5
35-39 5
40-44 5
45-49 5
50-54 5
55-59 5
60-64 5
65-69 5
70-74 5
75-79 3
80+ 1


PRRO Championship - Local Prize

The first place local man and woman will win trips to the 2020 Boilermaker 15K in Utica, NY in July 2020. Local is defined as a person domiciled for at least the past two months in Washington, D.C.; Montgomery, Prince George’s or Howard counties in Maryland; Arlington, Fairfax, Prince William or Loudoun counties in Virginia; and Alexandria or Fairfax cities in Virginia.